Harder even than it looks.

I know it’s early yet, but here’s the best thing I read today: the headline from today’s New York Times.

Giants Beat Patriots in Final Rally

I know both of those teams were really good this year, but man, it sure seems tough, doesn’t it, to win a Super Bowl when you don’t get to cheat. No doubt the 2000’s Patriots are the best dynasty ever, and Tom Brady is the best quarterback ever, and Bill Belichick the best coach ever, and their first Super Bowl win, against the St Louis Rams in 2002 (a National Special Security Event, under great scrutiny, no doubt), and no doubt they did it all with nothing but their own talent and genius, but gosh, winning Super Bowls sure seems hard when you’re not cheating.

About philokalos

Philologist, historian, and lover of great books, I started this blog to keep myself alert to the beauty of what I see amid the demands of my work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.