Gold is dear, but paid for in many coppers.

“When we went back to New York, in the middle of August [1939], the world that I had helped to make was finally preparing to break the shell and put forth its evil head and devour another generation of men.”

—T. Merton, The Seven Storey Mountain, on the days leading up to the bombing of Warsaw by the Germans.

We make the world we live in; each one of us. We are entitled neither to despair at the great evil going on as we live our daily lives, nor to consider ourselves innocent or uninvolved with it.

The same notion my dear Ausonius expressed positively when he said that even solid gold is bought with many pennies.

auro magnus honos, auri pretium tamen est aes.

Greatly esteemed is gold, but the price of gold in bronze.

Technopaegnion 7.9

Thanks, dear reader, should you ever find me, for being the gadfly of my discipline.

About philokalos

Philologist, historian, and lover of great books, I started this blog to keep myself alert to the beauty of what I see amid the demands of my work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.