Cardinal Dolan and the Al Smith Dinner

It’s late, but this is pretty good:

In the end, I’m encouraged by the example of Jesus, who was blistered by his critics for dining with those some considered sinners; and by the recognition that, if I only sat down with people who agreed with me, and I with them, or with those who were saints, I’d be taking all my meals alone.

I personally think this is a good way to show that we’re all in this together, whether we’re Catholic or any other religion or none, and our right to be Catholic or any other religion or none, a choice which would only be meaningful if it informed the way we live our lives, whether those lives are lived in active government of ourselves and one another, or merely as voters, has made our country dynamic and open to the re-energizing elements that have always sustained its cultural growth.

About philokalos

Philologist, historian, and lover of great books, I started this blog to keep myself alert to the beauty of what I see amid the demands of my work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.