“…from where you sit…”

From the movie Wall-E by Pixar

From an e-mail I just got:

You have been selected at random to participate in this study, and I hope that you will help us understand how the electronic revolution looks from where you sit and how it affects your role as a faculty member.

Gee, thanks. Since, you know, I wasn’t already depressed about the fact that I waste my eyes and the rest of my body by sitting in front of a computer screen most of the day. Thanks for modifying a perfectly good idiom to account for the perverse quality of my work circumstances.

Thanks, dear reader, for standing sometimes. It’s good for you.

About philokalos

Philologist, historian, and lover of great books, I started this blog to keep myself alert to the beauty of what I see amid the demands of my work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.