The Best Part of Waking Up!

Something to go with your morning coffee, dear reader, from a nice article in the Atlantic (which says something I also ready in the New York Times back in 2005 when my only responsibilities were reading Hesiod, drinking coffee, and playing rummy with my bride in our shoebox Bronx apartment. Ah, the good old days: being a dual-income, no-children household in New York City…I guess that’s why so many people do it):

So aside from caffeine, just what are you getting in a cup, or two, or six? Thousands of mostly understudied chemicals that contribute to flavor and aroma, including plant phenols, chlorogenic acids, and quinides, all of which function as antioxidants. Diterpenoids in unfiltered coffee may raise good cholesterol and lower bad cholesterol. And, okay, there’s also ash which, to be fair, is no more healthful than you would think — though it certainly isn’t bad for you.

Read the whole thing right here.

And when you’re done, watch this wonderful video montage sure to make you laugh, if you have a sense of humor, or, if you don’t, angry.

I think it’s funny that there’s no shortage of people demonstrating their outrage at such commercials as these. It would be like being offended at the humor of a play of Plautus…

Thanks, dear reader, should you ever find me, for being my gadfly.

About philokalos

Philologist, historian, and lover of great books, I started this blog to keep myself alert to the beauty of what I see amid the demands of my work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.