Home Schooling (Laudator Temporis Acti)

This is from Michael Gilleland, whose blog I heartily recommend (and link to on the right):

John McPhee, Annals of the Former World (New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2000), p. 337, on the education of geologist John David Love (1913-2002) and his brother Allan on the family ranch in Wyoming:

By and large, though, the boys were taught by their mother….She had the 1911 Encyclopaedia Britannica, the Redpath Library, a hundred volumes of Greek and Roman literature, Shakespeare, Dickens, Emerson, Thoreau, Longfellow, Kipling, Twain. She taught her sons French, Latin, and a bit of Greek. She read to them from books in German, translating as she went along. They read the Iliad and the Odyssey.

Sounds like my wife.

Great books, not governments, are to be trusted to be seeking truth, that is, something outside themselves, and not self-interest, and therefore also to be entrusted our children for the improvement of their souls.

Thanks, dear reader, should you ever find me, for being my gadfly.

p.s. I am horrified and embarrassed to report that on tagging this entry I find that it is the first time I have tagged The Iliad or The Odyssey (though of course Homer and many of his characters have their tags already).

About philokalos

Philologist, historian, and lover of great books, I started this blog to keep myself alert to the beauty of what I see amid the demands of my work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.