Nature’s Creative, and Man’s Destructive Power

“At about seven o’clock we found ourselves at last surveying the oyster-banks on which the pearl-oysters are reproduced by millions.

mt-des-voeux_300_600x450

Give us time, Monsieur Arronax, give us time.

“Captain Nemo pointed with his hand to the enormous heaps of oysters; and I could well understand that this mine was inexhaustible, for Nature’s creative power is far beyond man’s instinct of destruction.”

#scienceprogressmanipulationofmaterialrealitypleasurenotpainhappinessmanisthemeasure

#scienceprogressmanipulationofmaterialrealitypleasurenotpainhappinessmanisthemeasure

“Ned Land, faithful to his instinct, hastened to fill a net which he carried by his side with some of the finest specimens.”

–Jules Verne, Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

Thanks, dear reader, should you ever find me, for being my gadfly.

About philokalos

Philologist, historian, and lover of great books, I started this blog to keep myself alert to the beauty of what I see amid the demands of my work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.