Childhood and Childishness

A 15th century manuscript of the Divinae Instutiones, in a very legible Humanistic Book Hand.

A 15th century manuscript of the Divinae Institutiones, in a very legible Humanistic Book Hand.

Poeta quidem stultos homines infantibus comparavit. At ego multo imprudentiores esse dico.… Illos aetas facit putare quod non est, hos stultitia. Illi utique brevi desinunt falli, horum vanitas et durat, et semper crescit. –Lactantius, Divinae Institutiones 1.22 (PL 6.247A)

The poet actually compared foolish men to children. But I say that they are much more imprudent.… It is age that makes the former think what is not true, foolishness the latter. The former at any rate in a short time are ceasing to be deceived, the latter’s vanity both hardens and ever grows. –Lactantius, The Divine Instructions (or, Divine Institutes) 1.22

Thanks, dear reader, should you ever find me, for being my gadfly.

About philokalos

Philologist, historian, and lover of great books, I started this blog to keep myself alert to the beauty of what I see amid the demands of my work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.