Learn Silence to Learn Speech

Quid autem prae ceteris debemus discere quam tacere, ut possimus loqui, ne prius me vox condemnet mea quam absolvat aliena? …Quid opus est igitur ut properes periculum suscipere condemnationis loquendo, cum tacendo possis esse tutior?

–Ambrosius Mediolanensis, De Officiis, 1.2.5.

But what ought we to learn before the rest but to keep silence, that we be able to speak, lest my voice condemn me before another’s absolve me? …What need, then, to hasten to take up the risk of condemnation by speaking, when thou shouldst be safer by keeping silence?

–Ambrose of Milan, On Duties, 1.2.5.

Thanks, dear reader, should you ever find me, for being my gadfly.

About philokalos

Philologist, historian, and lover of great books, I started this blog to keep myself alert to the beauty of what I see amid the demands of my work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.