“Dear Dad, you owe me a qortare.”

Just got back from getting the oil changed in the car and found this note on my desk.

quarter

Transcription:

DearDaD, / youoweme / aqortareBec- / astars25¢

quarter1

A good papyrologist would put dots under the “stars” in line four, but then a good papyrologist might have been able to divine the meaning of this baffling note.

This is how banking should be. You just find a pile of coins with a note saying you owe me this amount k thanks bye #bostonstrong!

Thanks, dear reader, should you ever find me, for helping me figure out what in the world this could mean.

About philokalos

Philologist, historian, and lover of great books, I started this blog to keep myself alert to the beauty of what I see amid the demands of my work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.